Hi I’m Scott

Last updated: December 11th 2019

I’m a web developer for Creative Products here at Karmarama, based in Farringdon, London UK.

I’m married to a beautiful wife and we have a beautiful daughter and three cats!

👨‍👩‍👧 🐱 😸 😹

A little bit more about me, since 2007 I had been working as a VBA developer for companies such as Barclays and Deloitte.

For the past, almost 3 years now I have been learning web development (JavaScript) and all related technologies.

Coding history

Then:

I learned to code VBA whilst working my first ‘proper’ job at Barclays Bank as an assistant to the finance manager of a business area, the scripting was to automate credit card reconciliation from SAP and for producing monthly reporting figures, I was lucky enough to have been spotted by one of the development managers on a different team and offered a job as an Analyst Developer back in 2007, for the past 11 years I have mainly worked with VBA in Excel, Access, Word and in some cases PowerPoint!

The majority of solutions I made at Barclays were workflow tools, the tracking of a cheque or payment through a process, lots of greenfeild work with the focus on using the tools the business had to hand, so, no SQL servers, just the MS Office suite.

Tools of my trade: VBA, SQL some VB.NET and C#

Now:

I have (as of today) a 1,080 day GitHub streak, there are several OSS projects I like to contribute to the majority of my commits are for my projects, feel free to take a look 👀

I’m a massive fan of the JAM Stack and in particular the progressive web app generator Gatsby. Right now I’m enjoying integrating that with as many things as possible, here are some examples:

More details in the portfolio section.

Using Gatsby with CSS Grid and styled-components 💅 is an absolute joy 💜

Sectors I have worked in:

Finance (Risk, Asset Management), Property, Oil & Gas, Lloyd’s insurance market, government digital transformation and now creative digital.

Tools of my trade: JavaScript, Gatsby, GraphQL, styled-components 💅 GraphCMS and Zeit now and Netlify for static site hosting 👌

My personality

I find it hard to identify my traits, so instead I took the 16Personalities test, here are my results

My interests

I try to get to the gym three times a week to weight lift, that took up quite a bit of my time over the last 3 years or so. I have focused on the compound lifts bench, press, squat and my favourite, deadlift!

Before that I used to play tennis three times a week up to a county standard, I’d love to have the time to play tennis again but between all the above there’s not much time left. 🙃

If there’s anything you want to ask, you can Ask Me Anything

All the best. 👍